Jury 20

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION

Charlotte Rampling | Jury President

The film icon and recipient of the Berlinale’s Honorary Bears, among other awards, has worked both with directors from Italian cinema such as Luchino Visconti and Liliana Cavani and authors of the new French cinema including Patrice Chéreau, Claude Lelouche and François Ozon as well as with Sidney Lumet, Alan Parker, Nagisa Oshima, Axel Corti and Lars von Trier. Alongside her film career, Charlotte Rampling has also frequently collaborated with visual artists such as Juergen Teller, Oliver Beer or Loris Gréaud, among others.

Christopher Doyle | Cinematographer

Born in Australia, the award-winning cameraman has worked in Asia since the 1970s—the first time as a cameraman for the Taiwanese director Edward Yang in 1983. Since 1991, he has been providing Hong Kong director Wong Kar-wai’s unmistakable visual style with his agile camera. He has worked with the legends of Chinese directing Chen Kaige and Zhang Yimou as well as with the artist Ai Wei Wei. Doyle organizes exhibitions, publishes books and is considered a defining figure in the aesthetics of contemporary Asian film. He lives in Hong Kong.

Teresa Hubbard | Artist

The international artist was born in Ireland and grew up in Australia. Since 1990, she has worked together with the Swiss artist Alexander Birchler on projects spanning the fields of film, photography and sculpture. As the duo Hubbard/Birchler, they gained international attention for their cinematically and architecturally elaborate video works, most recently the film work Flora, which was recently shown in Munich. Hubbard participated in the 48th  and 57th Venice Biennale and has been featured in exhibitions at the Tate Museum Liverpool, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, Reina Sofia, Madrid, Kunsthaus Graz, Mori Museum, Tokyo and the Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, among others.

Jury 20

INTERNATIONALER WETTBEWERB

Charlotte Rampling |  Jurypräsidentin

Die u.a. mit den Ehrenbären der Berlinale ausgezeichnete Schauspiel-Ikone spielte u.a. bei Regisseur*innen des italienischen Kinos wie Luchino Visconti und Liliana Cavani oder Autoren des neuen französischen Kinos wie Patrice Chéreau, Claude Lelouche und François Ozon, außerdem bei Sidney Lumet, Alan Parker, Nagisa Oshima, Axel Corti oder Lars von Trier. Nebenbei hat Charlotte Rampling immer wieder auch mit bildenden Künstlern zusammengearbeitet wie Juergen Teller, Oliver Beer oder Loris Gréaud.

Christopher Doyle | Kameramann

Der vielfach preisgekrönte Kameramann wurde in Australien geboren und wirkt seit den 1970er Jahren im asiatischen Raum. 1983 arbeitete er erstmals als Kameramann für den taiwanesischen Regisseur Edward Yang. Seit 1991 sorgt er mit seiner beweglichen Kamera für den unverwechselbaren Stil von Hongkong-Regisseur Wong Kar-wai. Daneben arbeitete er mit den chinesischen Regie-Legenden Chen Kaige und Zhang Yimou, aber auch Künstler Ai Wei Wei. Doyle macht Kunstausstellungen, veröffentlicht Bücher und gilt als maßgeblich für die Ästhetik des zeitgenössischen asiatischen Films. Er lebt in Hongkong.

Teresa Hubbard | Künstlerin

Die aus Irland stammende internationale Künstlerin wuchs in Australien auf. Seit 1990 ist sie mit dem Schweizer Künstler Alexander Birchler in den Bereichen Film, Fotografie und Skulptur tätig. Als Duo Hubbard/Birchler wurden sie für ihre filmisch wie architektonisch aufwendig produzierten Videoarbeiten international bekannt, zuletzt die auch in München gezeigte Filmarbeit „Flora“. Teilnahmen u.a. bei der 48. und 57. Biennale von Venedig. Ausstellungen u.a. in Tate Museum Liverpool, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, Reina Sofia Madrid, Kunsthaus Graz, Mori Museum Tokio, Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin.
hubbardbirchler.net