Fast, Omer

Omer Fast, born in 1972 in Jerusalem, studied art at Hunter College in New York and lives in Berlin. In 2009 he received the Young Artist’s Award of the Nationalgalerie Berlin. He participated in the Venice Biennale, 2011, and documenta, 2012. Solo exhibitions included Whitney Museum of Art, New York; MUMOK, Vienna; Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich; La Caixa, Barcelona.

Selected films: Remainder (2015), Everything That Rises Must Converge (2014, KdK 2015), 5000 Feet Is The Best (2011, KdK 2013)

5000 Feet Is the Best
(USA 2011, HD, 31 Min., enOmdU)
Audience Award KINO DER KUNST 2013
5000 Feet is the Best says a pilot while sitting in a cockpit on the ground half a world away from the plane he is actually flying – a drone on a military mission. Do we lose our connection to reality when living in a parallel world simulated by technical images and instruments? Where are the borders between reality and fiction?

Omer Fast, „5000 Feet is the Best“, 2011, HD, 31 Min.
Omer Fast, „5000 Feet is the Best“, 2011, HD, 31 Min.

Everything That Rises Must Converge
(GER/ USA 2014, 56’, English /Spanish)
This film follows the daily routine of four porn actors as they wake up in the morning, drive to work in the San Fernando Valley and take a shower afterwards. Various fictitious characters, whose stories take place in the same house as the actors work, turn up between the scenes on the porn set. In a matrix of four simultaneous images, the film weaves scenes of a busy and tiring everyday professional life with unexpected moments of beauty.

Omer Fast, „Everything That Rises Must Converge“, DEU/USA 56’, 2014, Filmgalerie 451, Berlin
Omer Fast, „Everything That Rises Must Converge“, DEU/USA 56’, 2014, Filmgalerie 451, Berlin

Continuity
(GER 2016, digital, 85’, German)
Cast: André M Hennicke, Iris Böhm, Lukas Steltner, Constantin von Jascheroff, Niklas Kohrt
What first begins as a simple linear narrative about the return of a young German soldier from Afghanistan soon becomes sinister. Continuity is the story of a middle-aged married couple who repeatedly invites young men to their house in a small German town for an arcane ritual. Three different young men representing the couple‘s lost son Daniel spend the night in the house. Afterwards, they mysteriously disappear.

Omer Fast, Continuity, DEU 2016, 85’ © Filmgalerie 451
Omer Fast, Continuity, DEU 2016, 85’ © Filmgalerie 451

Fast, Omer

Omer Fast, geboren 1972 in Jerusalem, studierte Kunst am Hunter College in New York und lebt in Berlin. 2009 bekam er den Preis der Nationalgalerie Berlin für junge Kunst. Teilnahme an der Biennale di Venezia, 2011, und an der documenta, 2012. Einzelausstellungen u.a. Whitney Museum of Art, New York; MUMOK, Wien; Pinakothek der Moderne, München; La Caixa, Barcelo.

Filme (Auswahl): Remainder (2015), Everything That Rises Must Converge (2014, KdK 2015), 5000 Feet Is The Best (2011, KdK 2013)

5000 Feet Is the Best
(USA 2011, HD, 31 Min., enOmdU)
Publikumspreis KINO DER KUNST 2013
5000 Feet is the Best sagt ein Pilot, der, anstatt selbst an Bord zu sein, in einem Cockpit am Boden sitzt, während er am anderen Ende der Welt einen Kampfeinsatz mit einer Drohne fliegt. Verliert man den Bezug zur Realität, wenn man sich in einer durch technische Instrumente simulierten Parallelwelt bewegt? Wo verlaufen hier die Grenzen zwischen Realität und Fiktion?

Omer Fast, „5000 Feet is the Best“, 2011, HD, 31 Min.
Omer Fast, „5000 Feet is the Best“, 2011, HD, 31 Min.

Everything That Rises Must Converge
(DEU / USA 2014, 56’, Englisch /Spanisch)
Der Film folgt dem Tagesablauf von vier Pornodarstellern, vom morgendlichen Aufwachen über die Fahrt zur Arbeit in San Fernando Valley bis zur Dusche danach. Zwischen den Szenen vom Pornoset tauchen verschiedene fiktive Figuren auf, deren Geschichten sich im selben Wohnhaus abspielen, in dem die Darsteller arbeiten. In einem Gitter aus vier simultanen Bildern verspinnt der Film so Szenen eines anstrengenden und schwierigen Alltags mit unerwarteten Momenten der Schönheit.

Omer Fast, „Everything That Rises Must Converge“, DEU/USA 56’, 2014, Filmgalerie 451, Berlin
Omer Fast, „Everything That Rises Must Converge“, DEU/USA 56’, 2014, Filmgalerie 451, Berlin

Continuity
(DEU 2016, digital, 85’, Deutsch)
Darsteller: André M Hennicke, Iris Böhm, Lukas Steltner, Constantin von Jascheroff, Niklas Kohrt
Was zunächst als harmlose, lineare Erzählung über die Rückkehr eines jungen Bundeswehrsoldaten aus Afghanistan beginnt, kippt bald schon ins Unheimliche: Continuity ist die Geschichte eines verheirateten Paares mittleren Alters, das wiederholt junge Männer in ihr Haus in einer kleinen deutschen Stadt einlädt, um ein geheimnisvolles Ritual durchzuführen. Drei verschiedene junge Männer, die ihren verlorenen Sohn Daniel repräsentieren, verbringen nacheinander die Nacht in dem Einfamilienhaus.  Um anschließend auf mysteriöse Weise zu verschwinden.

Omer Fast, Continuity, DEU 2016, 85’ © Filmgalerie 451
Omer Fast, Continuity, DEU 2016, 85’ © Filmgalerie 451